On this day three years ago, Real Madrid won LaLiga number 33
Photo by Helios de la Rubia/Real Madrid via Getty Images

May 21 marks the third year anniversary of the 2016-17 league title, secured with a 0-2 victory against Malaga at La Rosaleda on the final matchday of the season, thanks to goals from Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema.

With Zinedine Zidane in charge, the team that day was: Navas; Danilo, Varane, Ramos, Marcelo; Modric, Casemiro, Kroos; Isco, Benzema, Cristiano Ronaldo.

Los Blancos only needed one point to confirm the long-awaited LaLiga title in Zinedine Zidane’s first full season in charge. Defeat was almost unthinkable and Cristiano Ronaldo continued his remarkable run of form as he made sure to settle the nerves with just two minutes on the clock. Isco picked up the ball, slotted it through to Ronaldo, who took one touch to steady himself, rounded the keeper before firing the team ahead, and put one hand on the trophy.


Malaga looked to hit back and had a few good chances, Sandro coming up with the majority of them, as Keylor Navas superbly denied a well struck free-kick, before the former Barcelona forward fired wide. That was almost all Malaga could offer and only 45 minutes separated Real Madrid from being crowned champions.

Karim Benzema doubled our lead on the 55th-minute mark, putting the game, and the title race to bed. Sergio Ramos met Toni Kroos’ cornet at the near post, which forced a sensational reaction stop from Kameni, however, Benzema was in the right place at the right time to score the rebound.

The game finished 2-0 and Real Madrid became LaLiga champions for the 33rd time, finishing the 2016/17 campaign with 93 points, three more than Barcelona.


Leave a Reply